



Nuclear Safety in Europe

Programme

11/6

8:45 - 9:30

REGISTRATION

9:30 - 10:45

Opening Session

State of play — What has Europe learnt about nuclear safety since the Fukushima accident?

President's speech:

ANDREJ STRITAR President of the Conference

Director, Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration (SNSA)

Opening address:

GÜNTHER OETTINGER European Commissioner for Energy

Participants:

GERALD HENNENHÖFER ENSREG Chair; Director General, Safety of Nuclear

Installations, Radiological Protection, Nuclear Fuel Cycle -

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Germany

FERGUS O'DOWD European Union Presidency; Minister of State at the

Departments of Communications, Energy & Natural Resources and

Environment, Community & Local Govt, Ireland

PHILIP LOWE Director-General for Energy, European Commission

LUIS ECHAVARRI Director General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

DENIS FLORY Deputy Director General, Nuclear Safety and Security Department,

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

10:45 - 11:15 COFFEE BREAK

PRESS CONFERENCE

11:15 - 13:00 Open Discussion

International views post-Fukushima including assessments and actions

Moderator:

ANDREJ STRITAR Director, Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration (SNSA)

Participants:

KENZO OSHIMA Commissioner, Japanese Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NRA)

ALEXEY FERAPONTOV Acting Head of Rostechnadzor (RTN), Russia

WILLIAM D. MAGWOOD Commissioner, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)

13:00 - 14:30 BUFFET LUNCH

14:30 - 15:20

Session 1

ENSREG: Challenges for the way forward

ENSREG established an Action Plan asking member states to implement stress tests recommendations through national action plans — what are the first achievements and the remaining challenges?

Moderator:

PHILIPPE JAMET Commissioner, French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

Participants:

HARTMUT KLONK Chairman, ENSREG Working Group on Nuclear Safety;

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Germany

HANS WANNER Chairman, Western European Nuclear Regulators Association

(WENRA); Director General, Swiss Federal Nuclear Safety

Inspectorate (ENSI)

FERNANDO MARTI SCHARFHAUSEN Chairman, Spanish Nuclear Safety Council (CSN)

OLENA MYKOLAICHUK President, State Nuclear Regulatory Inspectorate of Ukraine

(SNRIU)

15:20 - 16:10 Open Discussion

16:10 - 16:30 COFFEE BREAK

16:30 **-** 17:25

■ Session 2

Responding to nuclear emergencies

Protection of the population and the environment: How do European countries plan their response to nuclear emergencies? What are the current developments in the area of off-site emergency preparedness?

Moderator:

OLE HARBITZ Director General, Norwegian Radiation Protection Authority (NRPA)

Participants:

PATRICK MAJERUS Chairman, Emergency Working Group, Heads of the European Radiological Protection Competent Authorities (HERCA)

MASSIMO GARRIBBA Head of Unit, Nuclear Safety Architecture and Multilateral and International Cooperation, European Commission

PIERRE-FRANCK CHEVET Chairman, French Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN)

JEAN-CLAUDE DELALONDE President, National Association of Local Information Committees and Commissions (ANCCLI), France

17:25 - 18:30 Open Discussion

18:30 COCKTAIL RECEPTION

8:30 - 9:00 REGISTRATION

9:00 - 10:00

Session 3

EU legislative instruments and initiatives

What is the state of play of the EU legislative instruments and initiatives related to nuclear safety in the light of the Fukushima accident?

Moderator:

TOM RYAN Chairman, Atomic Questions Group, European Council;

Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland (RPII)

Participants:

PETER FAROSS Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for Energy,

European Commission

FREDRIK HASSEL ENSREG; Deputy Director General, Swedish Radiation Safety

Authority (SSM)

JEAN PIERRE AUDY Member of European Parliament

RICHARD ADAMS Representative, European Economic and Social Committee

JEAN-PIERRE BERGER Director, European Nuclear Installations Safety Standards

Initiative (ENISS)

10:00 - 10:40 Open Discussion

10:40 - 11:00 COFFEE BREAK

11:00 - 12:45

■ Session 4

The European contribution to the future of nuclear safety

What are the stakeholders' expectations in the light of the messages delivered by the nuclear safety regulatory authorities during the conference? What are the goals and challenges for the coming years?

Moderator:

ANDREJ STRITAR Director, Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration (SNSA)

Participants:

AXEL VORWERK Deputy Director General, Safety of Nuclear Installations,

Radiological Protection, Nuclear Fuel Cycle -Federal Ministry for the Environment, Germany **ANN MCGARRY** Chief Executive, Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland (RPII)

JACQUES REGALDO Chairman, World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO)

JACQUES REPUSSARD Chairman, European Technical Safety Organisation

> Network (ETSON); Director General, French Institute for Radioprotection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN)

JAN HAVERKAMP Expert Consultant on Nuclear Energy and Energy Policy in Central

Europe, Greenpeace

ANDRÉ-CLAUDE LACOSTE President of the Sixth Review Meeting of the Convention on

Nuclear Safety (CNS)

COLIN PATCHETT Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations, UK Office

for Nuclear Regulation (ONR)

Closure of the Conference

ANDREJ STRITAR President of the Conference

Director, Slovenian Nuclear Safety Administration (SNSA)

13:00 - 14:30 BUFFET LUNCH

ENSTREG European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group			
		www.ensreg.eu	